Water Framework Directive Waterbodies

Environment Spatial

From: Environment Protection Agency


Water Framework Directive (WFD) Waterbodies are the management and reporting units for the WFD. Waterbodies are assigned types depending on their likely WFD status classification and physical and biological characteristics (typology). This is in line with European Commission CIS guidance on delineation of waterbodies.


National coverage in Republic of Ireland. EU Code is a unique identifier for each Waterbody unit that is used to European reporting. Waterbodies are divided into five categories; River, Lake, Transitional, Coastal and Groundwater.

Additional Info

Field Value
Primary Identifier Internal ID
Personal Data No
Sensitive Personal Data No
Business Data No
Spatial Data Yes
Data Sharing No
API Available Yes
Open Data Yes
Open Data Portal Link https://data.gov.ie/dataset?q=waterbodies
Update frequency Other